10 Tall, dark and handsome Characters

Okay, so I have a thing for tall dark and handsome men. You know, hovering height, dark haired, (People of colour included), and their good looks. Triple threat. Although this list is entirely mine, and you might disagree with me, I would like to indulge you to my favourite Tall, dark and handsome characters over the years.

10. Leslie Cheung in A Better Tomorrow & A Better Tomorrow II

a-better-tomorrow-ii

If you grew up watching Hong Kong movies like I did, you are probably familiar with actor and singer Leslie Cheung. He committed suicide in 2003, suffering from depression, leaving a legacy and woeful devoted fans. He wasn’t the showstopper in A Better Tomorrow, and A Better Tomorrow II, as Chow Yun Fat and Ti Lung mostly shines. But he plays a cop who holds a grudge against his gangster brother for the death of their father. Okay, so he’s not tall, but he certainly is dark-haired and handsome.

9. Keanu Reeves in Speed

keanu-reeves-speed-550x357

Yes, I am aware that Keanu Reeves was nominated for Razzies about *counts fingers*… five times, and a Razzie Redeemer Award, so watching his movies are sort of a guilty pleasure. I could chose a handful of Keanu Reeves roles that I can put on that list (Reeves as FBI Agent Johnny Utah? Dreamy.), but yep you sorta question his taste in roles but then again what do I know about acting and movies. But how can you not like him in Speed as he saves the day and charms his way into our hearts? Let’s all forget about Speed 2. That. Never. Happen.

8. Harrison Ford in Witness

harrison-ford-witness-courtesy-paramount-picturesphotofest-600x487jpg

Alright, I know some of you would argue that Han Solo, Indiana Jones and Rick Deckard are probably your favourite Harrison Ford roles to boot. And I would agree with you, I love them too. But my first rude awakening was when I watch Witness. Is it because he was wearing suspenders with that unbuttoned shirt, or was it the fact that he was a man of authority? Or maybe young Harrison Ford can pull of any role that involves him being rugged and the hero that saves the day? Either way I’m not complaining.

7. Dana Andrews in The Best Years of Our Lives

dana2bandrews2bthe2bbest2byears2bof2bour2blives

The Best Years of Our Lives came out in 1946, a year after World War II ends, so it’s kinda fitting when this movie came out. The story highlights three war veterans, all came from different background and class. For me, Dana Andrews’ character particularly stand out, he was a fighter pilot who suffers from PTSD. He was charming as hell to Teresa Wright’s character (okay so he was married in this movie, but to be fair his wife doesn’t really care about him), and was kind-hearted that it was impossible not to fall in love with him too.

6. Chris Pine in Princess Diaries 2: The Royal Engagement

004pd2_chris_pine_005

Before he was Captain Kirk, he was the devilishly handsome and charming Nicholas. I was young, and read a lot of those YA novels (revisiting them back was embarrassing and cringeworthy), so it’s natural that Chris Pine was the ultimate heartthrob, and those scenes where he wears his glasses? I was deliriously giddy. He’s more boyish and mysterious in Princess Diaries compared to his current roles where his rugged looks and matured lines are more visible. I love it, but whenever his name comes up, I think about that scene in the ballroom where he meets Mia’s eyes after she stepped on his foot, and their slow dancing that makes you believe you would find love like that (Never gonna happen).

5.Joseph Gordon Levitt in Inception

joseph gordon-levitt

It’s been proven that if you put a man (or a woman) in a suit, it’ll make them 200% more attractive, as shown by Joseph Gordon Levitt. I’ve seen him in other films, but I never really notice him (5oo Days of Summer, Brick, 10 Things I Hate About You…), It’s hard not to pay attention to him in a waistcoat, and the fight scene in Inception with the walls turning upside down was the coolest thing ever! So it’s safe to say I look at Joseph Gordon Levitt differently from that moment on, he was also great in The Dark Knight Rises. But other than that, I haven’t seen him in his recent roles.

4. Jason Patric in The Lost Boys

clkpsk2wqaictoj-jpg-small

What is with 80’s guys with their brooding dark looks and mesmerizing eyes? Their unkempt hair and bushy eyebrows and luscious lips adorned the screen, and somehow Jason Patric’s vampire character is not as annoying as Edward in Twilight. Not into vampires, but if all vampires looked like the young Jason Patric, it would be hard for me not to jump right into the wagon. The scene where he spotted Jami Gertz in the crowd and was instantly enchanted, it made me wish I was Gertz. I will never be, but that’s fine.

3. Alan Ruck in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

ferrisbueller_146pyxurz

It’s hard not to relate to Cameron Frye’s insecurities and cynical view of the world. Alright, so he’s no Brad Pitt or Tom Cruise back in the 80s, but when he smirks or makes silly gestures and talks about his relationship (or lack of) with his parents, you want nothing but happiness for him. Sure, he might be suffering from depression and we shouldn’t romanticise that, but it was nice to know Cameron is also struggling like you did in high school or college. Eventhough Alan Ruck was THIRTY YEARS OLD in the movie.

2. Milo Ventimiglia in Gilmore Girls

161205-gilmore-girls-jess-news-2

Lets admit it, Jess is sort of a douchebag. A douchebag with a good heart (is that even a thing). Okay, so he’s my favourite Rory Gilmore’s boyfriend. He’s a bad boy, which I hate, but he also loves books and can be sweet at times, which I love. But when he left Rory at the end before she graduated, it was kind of heartbreaking – and no I haven’t watch the revival yet even though I have it stored in my computer. It’s a love and hate relationship with Jess, because while his bad boy persona was attractive – you know it’s not good for Rory (like eating a juicy fat burger and fries after swearing off junk food). It’s a guilty pleasure, and I have this fantasy that at the end he would end up with her. It might not come true, but I’m in denial because I don’t have a social life.

  1. Jacob Pitts in Justified

c0c011acaaad8132e5e1b1b531249f59

I wouldn’t blame you if you don’t know who he is, or what this show is about. But Jacob Pitts is an unknown actor, whose credits includes Eurotrip, Across The Universe and The Pacific. He lives a lowkey life, with occasional moments where he trolls himself online. But while Timothy Olyphant’s Raylan Givens is the star of the show, Jacob Pitts’ character, Tim Gutterson is a hidden gem. He plays a former Army Ranger sniper turned U.S Marshal, and he’s good at it. Season 4 is probably his defining moment as he faced off with Ron Eldard, and it’s a shame that Justified only lasts for 6 seasons. But his mysterious aura, good built (Dear God) and the charming looks makes it worthwhile to watch. Don’t believe me? Watch the show, even if it’s just for him.

You might agree with this list, you might not. Do your own list for fun, or when you’re bored and have nothing to do on Sunday night like I did.

Leave a Reply

